Check Your Claims
← Settlements/Data Privacy

Desert Orthopaedic Center data breach investigation

Desert Orthopaedic Center reports a data event involving possible patient and identifying information. Learn about its protection offer and an active legal investigation.

Updated October 8, 2026

Company under investigation
Desert Orthopaedic Center
Status
Under investigation
Potential compensation
No established cash payment
How to join
Request attorney evaluation; not a settlement claim
Case type
Attorney investigation
Check if you qualify →

Overview

Public notice
October 6, 2026
Information involved
Potential identifying and health information; varies by person
Current action
Ask about company protection services or legal evaluation

Desert Orthopaedic Center, commonly called DOC, reported a potential data privacy incident in an October 6, 2026 notice. It says it learned of the issue on or about August 7 and investigated with third-party specialists. The investigation determined that certain DOC information may have been accessed or copied without authorization, but its review of the potential impact remains ongoing.

An October 7 attorney investigation page seeks people whose information may have been involved. This is an investigation entry, not an announcement of a cash settlement. DOC's notice supports the reported event and company response. It does not establish legal liability, individual exposure, a court ruling or compensation. Sources were reviewed October 8, 2026.

Who the parties are

DOC is an orthopedic medical practice serving patients in the Las Vegas and Henderson area. Orthopedic care concerns the body's bones, joints, muscles, ligaments, tendons and related structures. Its practice overview describes general and specialist care, imaging, surgery and recovery services. Patients interact with clinical and office staff, insurance processing and medical records as part of care. That helps explain why the information described in the incident spans both medical details and administrative identifiers.

DOC is the organization reporting the data event. The third-party specialists assisting its investigation are not named in the public notice. Attorneys working with ClassAction.org are collecting inquiries to assess possible litigation; the reviewed recruiting page does not identify a sponsoring firm. There is no verified named plaintiff, settlement administrator or court in this source set. Credit-reporting agencies and the Federal Trade Commission appear in DOC's protection guidance, not as adjudicators of liability in the event.

What happened

DOC says it learned of a potential incident on or about August 7, 2026. That is a discovery date, not a confirmed date on which unauthorized access began. After learning of the event, it says it began a response and investigation with specialist assistance and took steps to secure its environment.

On October 6, DOC posted its data-event notice. It said information may have been accessed or copied and that the scope review was still ongoing. It plans to mail individual letters after its data review to potentially affected people for whom it has address information. The attorney recruiting page followed October 7. Neither source establishes an exact access window, an attacker identity, a technical method or an affected-person total.

What each side says

DOC says the information potentially involved varies by individual. Its list includes names and one or more of several contact, identity, medical, insurance and billing fields. The company also says it has no reason to believe information has been or will be misused, while offering complimentary credit monitoring and identity protection as a precaution. That is DOC's stated assessment, not an independent finding eliminating every possibility of misuse.

The recruiting attorneys say they are investigating whether a class action can be filed. They seek potentially affected individuals and describe possible compensation only if a case is filed and succeeds. No filed complaint is verified here, so there is no identified plaintiff's pleading to summarize and no documented defense to particular legal counts. An acknowledged data event and civil liability are different questions.

What the court has and has not decided

The reviewed notice and recruiting page do not identify a court case number, certification decision, damages award or settlement approval. A complaint is a filing that states a plaintiff's allegations; filing one would not itself prove those allegations. Class certification is a court's decision that a defined group may pursue claims together under applicable rules.

Neither stage is established by the source record reviewed for this article. There is also no verified settlement fund or court-approved claim form. This page does not declare that no related litigation exists anywhere. It states the evidence boundary and avoids converting an attorney intake opportunity into a court proceeding without documents supporting that change.

Who may qualify

  • You may request an evaluation if your information may have been involved in Desert Orthopaedic Center's reported data event.
  • A DOC incident notice is useful evidence, but its October 6 announcement says individual letters will follow completion of the data review.
  • Potential fields include identity, contact, treatment, medication, insurance and billing information. The categories vary by individual.
  • Receiving orthopedic care alone does not confirm exposure. No court-approved class definition, affected-person count or settlement exclusion list is established in the reviewed sources.

People with information potentially involved in DOC's event may request an evaluation. A personal incident letter would help identify the connection, but the announcement says letters will follow the completed review. Having been a DOC patient is a reason to check the notice, not confirmation that your information was accessed.

The possible information includes contact details, birth dates, Social Security numbers, treatment or diagnosis details, prescription or medication information, service dates, provider names and locations, medical record numbers, patient account numbers, Medicare or Medicaid identifiers, insurance information and medical billing or claims information. The notice does not say all fields were involved for everyone. Medicare and Medicaid are government health-coverage programs; their identifiers relate to coverage, not a promised government payment from this incident.

No court-defined class period, geographic boundary, material exclusion list or required proof-of-loss standard is established. Keep information about your own notice and experience distinct from the general list of possible fields.

What affected readers can do now

Read the official notice rather than relying on an unsolicited offer of compensation. For questions about the company response or enrollment, DOC lists 833-491-8244, Monday through Friday, 5 a.m. to 5 p.m. Pacific Time, excluding major U.S. holidays. It also gives a mailing address at 2800 East Desert Inn Road, Suite 100, Las Vegas, Nevada 89121. Verify those details against the current notice before using them.

DOC recommends checking credit reports, account statements and explanations of benefits for suspicious activity or errors. An explanation of benefits is an insurer's summary of how a medical claim was processed; it is not itself a bill. If you want legal evaluation, the cited attorney page explains its contact process. Do not put Social Security numbers, medical records or detailed diagnoses into a public comment or an initial general contact message.

What you could receive

Company response

Credit monitoring and identity protection

DOC offers complimentary services to those who may be impacted. Call the official assistance line for eligibility and enrollment details; the public notice does not state a duration or enrollment deadline.

Legal evaluation

No established cash payment

Attorneys are assessing possible litigation. There is no established settlement amount, fund or payment option. Requesting contact does not make you a plaintiff or guarantee representation.

DOC offers complimentary credit monitoring and identity protection to those who may be impacted. The notice directs people to its assistance line for more information or enrollment. It does not state the provider, service duration, enrollment deadline or detailed activation conditions, so those details cannot be promised here. Obtain the current terms from DOC or an authenticated individual notice.

No cash settlement payment is established. There is no verified loss reimbursement cap, alternate cash option or combination formula. Company services are separate from legal evaluation. The public notice does not provide release terms establishing whether enrollment affects legal rights; this page does not infer either a waiver or a guarantee that accepting services preserves every possible claim.

Important dates and rights

August 7, 2026 is the approximate discovery date. October 6 is the public-notice date, and October 7 is the attorney investigation page's publication date. The sources do not establish a settlement claim, objection, exclusion or final hearing deadline. No monitoring enrollment date is stated in the public notice reviewed.

Opting out ordinarily means formally excluding yourself from a defined settlement class through its prescribed process. No such process is established here. Individual legal deadlines may still apply and cannot be calculated from these sources alone. Requesting contact does not file a lawsuit, stop a deadline or create an attorney-client relationship. A representation agreement and any action to preserve claims require separate assessment.

Definitions

A data-event notice is an organization's explanation of a reported information-security event. Potentially affected means the organization believes information may have been involved; it is not a finding about each person. Protected health information means identifying information connected to a person's care or health coverage.

A medical record number identifies a patient's record in a provider's system. A patient account number can identify a billing account. Credit monitoring watches for certain changes in credit information, while identity protection may include additional services under the provider's terms. A legal investigation evaluates possible claims and is not equivalent to a filed or certified class action.

What happens next

DOC says it will complete its data review and send letters to potentially affected individuals with available addresses. Those letters may narrow the fields involved for an individual and explain protection-service enrollment. The reviewed sources do not establish a completion date or guarantee when a particular letter will arrive.

The recruiting attorneys may assess inquiries and decide whether litigation is appropriate. Filing, court certification and compensation remain uncertain. Pulse's practical note is to save any DOC letter beside relevant medical billing correspondence so an evaluation can distinguish the announced event from unrelated account errors. Keep originals available and use a secure channel if a verified attorney later requests sensitive documents.

Sources and evidence boundaries

DOC's October 6 notice controls the event dates, possible information, ongoing-review statement, company assessment and protection offer. Its practice overview explains the medical services connected to those records. The attorney page supports active recruiting, not an established lawsuit, class definition or payment. The access window, affected total and particular individual's exposure remain unresolved in these public materials.

Class Action Pulse is not a law firm or settlement administrator, does not guarantee eligibility or payment, and directs readers to official materials. This article is legal information, not individualized legal advice.

Frequently asked questions

Has DOC confirmed that every patient was affected?

No. Its notice says the impact review remains ongoing and information varies by individual. It does not establish that all patients were affected.

What if I have not received a letter?

DOC says it will mail notices after completing the data review to potentially affected people for whom it has addresses. Its assistance line can answer questions about available services.

Is there a cash settlement to claim?

No cash settlement or payment amount is established in the reviewed sources. The current company offer is complimentary credit monitoring and identity protection.

Does the public notice prove information was misused?

No. DOC says it has no reason to believe information has been or will be misused. That company statement is not an independent guarantee about future risk.

Sources

This is an attorney investigation, not an open settlement claim process. Class Action Pulse is not a law firm. An inquiry requests follow-up; it does not file a claim, guarantee a firm connection or establish representation.

Free Eligibility Check

Do you qualify?

Check your eligibility and get help understanding your claim. It's free and takes under a minute.

Class Action Pulse is not a law firm and does not provide legal advice. Submitting this form does not create an attorney–client relationship. This is attorney advertising.