Overview
- Practice
- Dental care in Hood River, Oregon
- Incident dates
- About October 22, 2025 and January 15, 2026
- Available action
- Check notice details and request evaluation
Hood River Dental has reported two cybersecurity incidents that may have exposed personal and health information. Its October 8, 2026 notice describes possible unauthorized access, not a court finding of negligence. Attorneys are seeking information from affected people while evaluating a potential class action. No settlement, payment program, or certified class is established by the sources reviewed for this article.
The practice says incidents occurred on or about October 22, 2025 and January 15, 2026. Its investigation concluded September 8, 2026, when it determined that certain files containing personal or protected health information may have been accessed. The information involved differs by individual. Being a patient does not establish that every listed type of data was affected. Company notice
For readers, the available actions are to check whether their records were involved, follow the practice's protection guidance, preserve relevant documents, and consider requesting an attorney evaluation. An evaluation request is not a settlement claim and does not itself make someone a plaintiff.
Who the parties are
Hood River Dental is a dental practice in Hood River, Oregon. Its website describes routine dental care, implants, orthodontics, oral surgery and cosmetic dentistry, with Belmont and May Street offices. Patients interact with the practice through appointments, treatment, billing and insurance arrangements. The disputed systems are the practice's network environment, where the notice says files containing personal and health information were present. The sources do not identify a parent company or a separate vendor responsible for these incidents. Practice website
ClassAction.org is the legal-information and attorney-intake website publishing the investigation page. That page identifies Bryson Harris Suciu & DeMay PLLC as the sponsoring law firm and says submitted information is forwarded to it. Bryson describes itself as a plaintiff's law firm, meaning it represents people or businesses bringing claims. Neither the intake website nor the firm is a settlement administrator for this matter. Investigation and sponsor
The Massachusetts Office of Consumer Affairs and Business Regulation records breach reports affecting Massachusetts residents. Its 2026 report lists Hood River Dental on October 8. That state report is corroborating notification evidence, not a lawsuit, court ruling, or national count. The practice also says it alerted law enforcement; its notice does not name the agency. State report
What happened
The company notice supplies four useful milestones, which should not be collapsed into a single breach date.
- On or about October 22, 2025, a cybersecurity incident affected certain systems in the practice's network environment. The practice says it evaluated and took steps to secure its systems.
- On or about January 15, 2026, another cybersecurity incident occurred.
- On September 8, 2026, the investigation concluded and determined that certain files may have been accessed without authorization.
- The public notice was updated October 8, 2026. The Massachusetts report records the practice's notification that day.
The notice does not explain the entry route, identify an attacker, state that every affected file was copied, or assign particular data categories to each of the two events. It does not establish whether the same actor was involved in both. Those are evidence limits, not reasons to substitute an assumed ransomware story. Company chronology
What each side says
Hood River Dental says it took immediate steps to secure its systems, alerted law enforcement and engaged outside forensic experts. Digital forensics is the examination of electronic systems and records to understand an incident. The practice says it continues to evaluate and modify its practices and internal controls to improve information security. Its notice also states that law enforcement did not delay notification. Practice's response
The attorney-intake page says lawyers are investigating whether a class action can be filed. It discusses possible recovery for harms such as lost time or out-of-pocket costs if a case is filed and succeeds. These are potential legal objectives, not approved benefits. The reviewed materials do not supply a named plaintiff's complaint, a filed defense, an admission of liability, or a judicial finding about the adequacy of the practice's security or notification timing. Attorney investigation
The gap between the incident dates and the public notice is documented. The sources do not establish why each investigative step took the time it did or whether a legal deadline was violated. This article does not infer either answer.
What the court has and has not decided
No complaint, case number, class-certification order or settlement-approval order was verified in the reviewed record. The current listing is an investigation, not a representation that a filed class action is accepting members under a court-defined class.
Class certification means a court has authorized specified claims to proceed on behalf of a defined group. Filing a complaint, which states allegations, would not by itself accomplish that. A future motion to dismiss would ask the court to reject claims on legal grounds; it would not automatically resolve every factual dispute. None of these procedural developments is established here.
Who may qualify
- Connection: Your information may have been involved in one of the two disclosed incidents; patient status alone does not confirm exposure.
- Notice: Preserve your letter. If none arrived, the practice invites questions at 1-888-940-8885.
- Data: The affected categories vary by person; do not assume every listed identifier or medical record was involved.
- Location: No court-defined geography restriction was verified. The Oregon practice also reported notification affecting a Massachusetts resident.
- Documents: Keep notices and records of actual losses or concerns. No court-approved claim proof rule or exclusion list exists in the reviewed record.
Attorneys are asking to hear from people whose information may have been affected, including notice recipients. The investigation has no verified settlement-class definition, geography restriction, exclusion list or payment documentation rule. The Oregon location identifies the practice, not a rule limiting the investigation to Oregon residents. The Massachusetts report confirms that notification is not solely an Oregon issue. Recruiting scope
The company lists names with one or more of these possible data categories: birth dates, financial account information, payment card information, driver's license numbers, Social Security numbers, medical record numbers, medical or patient-account identifiers, diagnosis and treatment information, and health insurance information. Not all categories apply to each person. A personalized notice and the practice's assistance line are more useful for checking an individual's situation than treating this list as proof that all their records were exposed. Data categories
What affected readers can do now
Keep the notice and envelope, any follow-up letters, relevant account or insurance statements, and records of actual expenses or disputed transactions. These help an attorney assess what happened without assuming that every expense was caused by an incident.
The practice says people who did not receive a letter can ask whether they are potentially affected by calling 1-888-940-8885. The line operates Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. Eastern Time, excluding holidays. Notice is being provided where valid mailing addresses are available, so the absence of a letter alone does not answer whether a record was involved. Assistance instructions
The notice encourages reviewing account statements, credit reports and explanation-of-benefits statements. An explanation of benefits is an insurer's summary of services processed under a health plan; it is not necessarily a bill. Follow up with the insurer or provider about unfamiliar services. The notice also explains fraud alerts and credit freezes.
Use the linked attorney investigation if you want an evaluation. Its page says initial contact costs nothing and does not obligate you to pursue action. Read the recipient and consent disclosures before submitting personal information. This article does not claim that Class Action Pulse has a partnership with the sponsoring firm. Contact process
What you could receive
No established payment
No verified settlement or payment formula exists. A possible future lawsuit does not guarantee compensation.
Check your individual offer
The public notice refers to services but does not specify a universal duration, provider or enrollment deadline. Ask the practice about your letter.
Reports, alerts and freezes
The notice explains credit-report review, fraud alerts and security freezes. These are protective tools, not cash benefits or settlement options.
No cash payment, fund, reimbursement cap or distribution formula is established. Potential litigation compensation depends on whether a case is filed, what claims can proceed, proof, and an eventual judgment or settlement. Nothing in the reviewed record guarantees any of those outcomes.
The company notice refers to services being made available through individual notifications but does not specify a universal monitoring duration, provider or enrollment deadline. Check your own letter or ask the assistance line about any offer. Do not confuse a protection service with damages paid by a court. Free credit-report access, fraud alerts and freezes described in the notice are protective tools, not a settlement payout. There are no verified cash options or combination rules to apply now. Notice resources
Important dates and rights
The verified dates are the two incidents, the September 8 investigation conclusion and the October 8 notice. No settlement claim, exclusion, objection or hearing deadline is available in the reviewed materials. Do not treat an incident or reporting date as a filing deadline.
Opting out means excluding yourself from a specified class settlement or proceeding under its rules. Objecting means telling a court why you oppose proposed settlement terms. Neither process is established here. An inquiry does not file a lawsuit or establish an attorney-client relationship. Ask a licensed attorney about individual time limits rather than assuming an intake request protects every deadline.
Definitions
Protected health information is identifiable information about health, treatment or payment for care. A patient ID or medical record number links records to a person within a provider's systems. Unauthorized access means entry or viewing without permission; the notice's statement that files may have been accessed does not establish misuse of every record.
A fraud alert signals that a creditor should verify identity before opening new credit. A security freeze restricts access to a credit report, subject to exceptions, and can require lifting it when applying for credit. The practice's notice provides instructions for both. A class action is a proposed group lawsuit, not an automatic payment entitlement. Protection definitions
What happens next
Hood River Dental says it is notifying potentially affected individuals. Readers should use their letters and the assistance line for person-specific information. The lawyers' investigation may lead to litigation, but the intake page does not promise that a suit will be filed or a class certified.
Important unresolved questions include the total affected population, the precise cause of each event, individual data exposure, and whether legal claims will proceed. Later verified notices or court records could change the available action. Until then, preserve information and distinguish notification, an attorney evaluation and a settlement claim.
Sources and evidence boundaries
The company-hosted October 8 notice controls the chronology, possible data categories, response and assistance instructions. The practice website explains its services. The Massachusetts report independently confirms reporting, while ClassAction.org confirms recruitment and identifies the sponsoring firm. None establishes a settlement, guaranteed recovery or wrongdoing found by a court.
Class Action Pulse is not a law firm or settlement administrator. It does not guarantee eligibility or payment. Consult the official notice for incident assistance and a licensed attorney for advice about your circumstances.
Frequently asked questions
Is there a Hood River Dental settlement?
No settlement or approved payment program was verified in the reviewed materials. This is an attorney investigation.
Does being a patient establish that my Social Security number was exposed?
No. The notice says data categories vary by person. Check your letter or contact the practice for person-specific information.
Can I ask for help without a notice letter?
Yes. Hood River Dental says people without letters can ask whether they are potentially affected at 1-888-940-8885.
Does an intake request join a court-approved class?
No. It requests an evaluation, not a settlement claim or court filing. The reviewed sources do not establish a certified class.
