Evidence boundary
Security Industry Specialists, Inc. says a data-security incident may have involved personal information it held. Its published sample leaves individual data fields, the letter date and the activation deadline as placeholders. This article does not fill them in. Attorneys are recruiting affected people, but no filed class complaint, certified class, judicial liability finding or settlement payment was verified as of October 5, 2026.
Overview
- Company role
- Security services for people, facilities and retail businesses
- Verified offer
- 24 months of Kroll identity monitoring
- Current stage
- Attorney investigation, not an approved settlement
Security Industry Specialists, commonly called SIS, provides security services for people, assets and facilities. Its work includes on-site security at offices and campuses, retail loss prevention and protection for executives. People may encounter its personnel at a workplace, store or event without having purchased a consumer account from SIS.
The company's sample letter says a security incident may have involved personal information held by SIS. It offers 24 months of identity monitoring through Kroll. The practical starting point is the letter addressed to you, because the public sample does not identify which records or data fields apply to any one person.
This is an investigation listing, not a settlement claim page. A notice recipient can use the company's service instructions and separately ask an attorney to evaluate possible claims. Neither action establishes that SIS violated a law or that compensation will follow.
Who the parties are
SIS is the company reporting the incident. Its official service descriptions explain physical and operational security programs, retail theft prevention, executive protection, intelligence work and secure logistics. Retail customers may interact with its security staff; employees and business clients have different relationships. The breach letter does not identify which of those groups supplied the affected information, so this article does not label every recipient a customer or employee.
Kroll Information Assurance, LLC is the provider named in the incident notice for monitoring, fraud consultation and identity-theft restoration. In this matter it supplies incident-response services. It is not identified as an administrator of a court-approved compensation settlement.
Bryson Harris Suciu & DeMay PLLC sponsors the active attorney investigation disclosed on ClassAction.org. ClassAction.org is a separate publisher that presents that intake. The firm's recruitment does not prove wrongdoing or create an affiliation with Class Action Pulse. No named class plaintiff or court case number tied to this investigation was verified.
What happened
The available public sample confirms that SIS is notifying people of a data-security incident. It states that information about an individual may have been involved, but substitutes a placeholder for the recipient's name and data elements. It then describes protection services and contact instructions.
The sample does not state when an unauthorized party first accessed a system, when SIS discovered the incident, what system was involved or when any access ended. Its date field is also a template placeholder. A notification template explains what recipients are told; it is not a dated forensic account of the event.
The attorney recruitment page was published October 1, 2026. It references a September regulatory report, but the accessible sample does not establish those underlying incident dates. A reporting date and an incident date answer different questions. This article uses the confirmed letter and current recruitment without treating a report date as the day of the breach.
What the company and attorneys say
SIS's letter says it partnered with Kroll to provide identity monitoring at no cost for 24 months. The stated services include credit monitoring, fraud consultation and identity-theft restoration. The company says recipients will not be asked to give up a legal right as a condition of receiving those services.
The sample does not describe the technical cause, name an attacker, publish a complete affected-person count or state that a particular recipient suffered identity theft. It also does not contain a litigation defense or a detailed assertion about whether misuse has been found. The absence of those statements is not a concession, denial or finding of fault.
Attorneys seek information from affected individuals to assess whether a class action could be filed. The intake describes possible privacy harm, response time and out-of-pocket costs. Those are topics for evaluation, not approved damage categories or payment promises. No position is attributed to SIS beyond what its letter actually states.
What has and has not been decided
No reviewed court record establishes a certified class, damages award, settlement agreement or finding that SIS failed to meet a legal obligation. Class certification means a judge allows defined claims to proceed for a group. A lawyer's decision to investigate is not certification, and a breach notification is not a judgment.
There is no verified official compensation process, objection period, exclusion deadline or fairness hearing. The confirmed Kroll offer is a company-provided response service. Its duration does not measure how long an incident lasted or determine the value of a legal claim.
Who may qualify
- Notice recipients: You received a letter from Security Industry Specialists, Inc. describing personal information that may have been involved.
- Individual scope: The sample leaves data fields blank. Your personal letter, not a general client or employment relationship, identifies the information relevant to you.
- Service conditions: Kroll credit services require age over 18, established U.S. credit, a Social Security number in your name and a U.S. address associated with your credit file.
A direct SIS notice is the strongest available starting point. Check the personal information listed in your own copy. The public template's placeholders do not support assuming that every recipient had a Social Security number, medical record, financial account or driver's license exposed.
For Kroll credit services, the sample specifies that a recipient must be over 18, have established credit in the United States, have a Social Security number in their name and have a U.S. residential address associated with the credit file. These are credit-service conditions, not a judicial definition of who can bring a claim.
The reviewed sources do not establish that every SIS client, employee, applicant or retail visitor was involved. If you do not have a letter, seek confirmation through the company rather than relying only on your relationship with it. No class exclusions have been approved in the verified record.
What affected readers can do now
Keep your complete notice, its mailing information and records identifying your relationship with SIS. Use the personal membership number and activation deadline in the letter if you want the offered Kroll services. The sample directs recipients to enroll.krollmonitoring.com and lists the incident center at (844) 958-8975, weekdays from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. Central Time excluding major U.S. holidays.
If the instructions or membership number are missing, ask the incident center for help. Do not publish the number or give it to an unsolicited caller. Check financial statements and credit reports for unfamiliar activity and keep dated records if you discover possible misuse.
An attorney may ask to review the notice and any documented losses. An initial inquiry does not guarantee representation, create class membership, file an official claim or promise a lawsuit. Keep original receipts, correspondence and fraud reports rather than estimating expenses that you cannot explain.
What you could receive
24 months of identity monitoring
Kroll services include credit monitoring, fraud consultation and identity-theft restoration. Use your personal membership number and activation deadline; credit-service conditions apply.
No established compensation
Attorneys seek affected individuals for evaluation. No settlement fund, certified class, compensation form or guaranteed payment was verified.
The verified offer is 24 months of Kroll identity monitoring at no cost under the notice's terms. Credit monitoring alerts recipients to certain credit-file changes. Fraud consultation provides help understanding possible identity misuse; restoration services assist with recovery. These services do not prevent every type of fraud and are not cash compensation.
The sample contains no fixed public enrollment date. Your personal letter controls that deadline. The express no-waiver statement applies to receipt of these services; it does not settle the effect of a separate agreement you might sign elsewhere. No legal recovery amount, fund or payment schedule is currently established.
Important dates and rights
The current legal-intake page was published October 1. Incident, discovery and notification dates remain unavailable in the sample reviewed. The individual activation deadline is not a class action claim deadline. There is no verified court-approved release, opt-out process or objection period for this investigation.
The notice describes the right to a police report and a free security freeze. A freeze limits access to a credit file, subject to exceptions; it does not resolve every form of identity misuse. This page does not calculate legal filing limits for an individual person or jurisdiction.
Definitions and what happens next
An investigation is fact gathering to decide whether legal claims may be pursued. A complaint is the document that begins a lawsuit and states allegations. A certified class is a court-approved group for specified claims. None should be confused with receiving a company notice or enrolling in a protection service.
Attorneys may seek more evidence and decide whether to file a case. SIS may provide additional incident information. A future filing would need its own source audit; allegations would remain allegations unless admitted or decided. For now, use your notice for individual instructions and do not plan around an unverified payment.
Sources and evidence boundaries
The company-authored sample supports the service duration, enrollment conditions, contact details and no-waiver statement. SIS's own pages support its business role. The attorney page establishes recruitment only. Technical details, individual data fields and incident dates are not supplied by the sample and are not invented here.
Class Action Pulse is not a law firm, SIS, Kroll or a settlement administrator. This is general information, not legal advice, and does not guarantee eligibility, representation or payment. Follow official instructions and your personal notice.
Frequently asked questions
When did the SIS incident happen?
The reviewed sample does not state an incident, discovery or access date. A reporting month is not an incident date.
Was every employee or customer affected?
The sample does not establish that. A direct notice or company confirmation is stronger evidence than a general relationship with SIS.
Do the services require giving up legal rights?
The SIS sample expressly says it will not ask recipients to give up a legal right as a condition of receiving the offered services.
Is there a fixed enrollment deadline?
The published sample has a placeholder. Use the activation deadline in your individual letter or ask the official incident center.
